Skip to Content

Posts under tag: awards

  Page 1 of 4  Next Page »
February 13, 2020

DuBrow Wins Sloan Research Fellowship

Assistant Professor Sarah DuBrow has been named a 2020 Sloan Research Fellow! The Sloan Fellowships are prestigious awards given to outstanding early-stage scholars in the natural sciences. Congratulations, Dr. DuBrow!

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2020 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $75,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research.

February 5, 2020

Bala Wins Tykeson Award for Teaching Excellence

Congratulations to Professor Jagdeep Bala for winning the prestigious Tykeson Teaching Award from the College of Arts and Sciences!

Divisional Dean for the National Sciences Hal Sadofsky surprised Jag by presenting the award to Jag during her Peer Advisors class meeting. All the other CAS deans were in attendance (Ford, Blonigen, Scher, & Wonham), plus Department Head Ulrich Mayr, former Tykeson Teaching Award winner Jordan Pennefather, multiple Psychology Department faculty, some staff members, and the three advising GEs in Psych (Everett, Fridman, and Bedford-Peterson) who work with Jag. Jag’s husband, Avinash, was also able to be there for the surprise.

You can read what Dean Hal Sadofsky said about Bala’s teaching and see pictures below:

January 13, 2020

Faculty and Alumna Win “Rising Star” Awards from the Association for Psychological Science

Congratulations to Sarah DuBrow and Kate Mills on being named “Rising Stars” by the Association for Psychological Science, the most prominent international psychology research society! The competitive award goes to outstanding early career researchers across all fields in psychology “whose innovative work has already advanced the field and signals great potential for their continued contributions.” Congratulations, Sarah and Kate!

We are very proud of alumnus Keely Muscatell (BA, 2006), who also received the prize. Muscatell since earned her doctorate at UCLA and is now an Assistant Professor of Psychology at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Congratulations, Keely!

May 28, 2019

Congratulations to our award-winning grad students

Our department annually recognizes the work of our outstanding students with awards, made possible by donations from generous alumni. These annual awards are:

  • The Norman D. Sundberg Fellowship in Psychology, given to outstanding Psychology doctoral students whose research focus is on cultural, community, clinical or personality assessment issues to honor the life and work of Norman Sundberg.
    • This year’s Norman D. Sundberg Fellows are Melissa Barnes, Katherine Hagan and Tamara Niella.
  • The Beverly Fagot Dissertation Fellowship, given to an outstanding Psychology doctoral student who has advanced to candidacy and has a research focus in the area of social development and/or developmental psychopathology to honor the life and work of Beverly Fagot.
    • This year’s Beverly Fagot fellow is Grace Binion.
  • The Gregores Graduate Student Research Award, made possible by a generous gift from George Gregores in honor of his son who graduated with dual degrees in Psychology and Political Science in 2010.
    • This year’s award recipeints are Monika Lind and Cameron Kay.
  • The Distinguished Teaching Award, given to a Psychology graduate student (or students) who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate classroom teaching.
    • This year’s award recipients are Arian Mobasser and Jenn Lewis.

Congratulations to our award winners!

February 21, 2019

Jordan Pennefather receives the Tykeson Award for Undergraduate Teaching

Jordan Pennefather, one of our excellent department instructors, was recently honored with the Tykeson Award for Undergraduate Teaching. (more…)

August 14, 2018

Dr. Freyd Receives APA Award

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Freyd, who received an award from the Trauma Psychology division of the American Psychological Association! (more…)

June 5, 2018

Award-winning Undergraduate Students

We are delighted to announce the following winners of our 2018 Undergraduate Awards!


May 11, 2018

Award-winning Faculty Members

Three of our outstanding faculty members have won awards recently celebrating their impressive careers!

Dr. Dare Baldwin is a recipient of a 2018 Faculty Research Award from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation for her work on “Harnessing Pupillometry to Monitor Infants’ Auditory Health.”

Dr. Elliot Berkman has been awarded the Graduate Mentor Excellence award from the graduate school for his laudable skills as a mentor for graduate students, postdocs, and early career faculty.

Dr. Jennifer Freyd has earned her second fellowship at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University to pursue the research project “Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Sexual Violence: Individual, Institutional and Structural Forces.”

Congratulations to our faculty!

May 1, 2018

Grad Students Win More Awards!

Our excellent graduate students have taken home more awards!

Grace Binion received a Distinguished Teaching Award.

Theresa Cheng won a General University Scholarship and a Gregores Graduate Student Research Award.

Dani Cosme earned this year’s Beverly Fagot Dissertation Fellowship.

Jessica Flannery took home a General University Scholarship and a Gregores Graduate Student Research Award.

Rita Ludwig received a General University Scholarship and a Norman D. Sundberg Fellowship in Psychology.

Ben Nelson won a Norman D. Sundberg Fellowship in Psychology.

Lauren Vega O’Neil was honored with a Distinguished Teaching Award.

Dori Wright earned a Norman D. Sundberg Fellowship in Psychology.

Congratulations, everyone!






  Page 1 of 4  Next Page »