Skip to Content

Posts under tag: congrats

  Page 1 of 5  Next Page »
September 10, 2020

Alum David Antonucci (PhD 1981) Wins Lifetime Achievement Award for Research Excellence

We are delighted to announce that Dr. David Antonucci (PhD, 1981) is the 2020 winner of the Alfred M. Wellner Lifetime Achievement Award for Research Excellence from the National Register of Health Service Psychologists. Congratulations, David!

On winning the award, Dr. Antonucci writes, “The truth is I credit the University of Oregon psychology department for teaching me how to be a scientist practitioner. In my opinion, it is one of the greatest psychology departments in the country.”

The National Register’s Awards Committee selected Dr. Antonuccio for the Wellner award based on his numerous professional accomplishments, dedication to advocacy, and leadership in psychology. Among these many accomplishments, Dr. Antonuccio testified in the 2004 FDA hearings on the increased suicide risk of antidepressants in children, testimony that contributed to the black box warnings on antidepressant use in children. He has published and presented extensively on the efficacy of antidepressants and on the behavioral treatment of smoking cessation.

Upon receiving the award, Dr. Antonuccio said, “Clinical research is essential to the development of effective treatments. This award for excellence in research means the world to me because it is given by an organization that represents health care providers, the group of psychologists with which I most identify. I love doing psychotherapy. The tools we have as psychologists are powerful and we know that because of clinical research evaluating treatment outcomes. It has been said that ‘you can give a person fish and feed him for a day, or you can teach him how to fish and feed him for a lifetime.’ In my view, psychotherapy is the equivalent of teaching someone how to fish. Clinical research has shown us how to do that most effectively.”

More information about Dr. Antonucci’s award is here.

August 11, 2020

Grad Student Monika Lind Wins 2nd Place in National 3-Minute-Thesis Contest!

Congratulations to clinical area doctoral candidate Monika Lind for placing second in the American Psychological Association’s “Psychological Science in 3” contest! You can view Monika’s presentation at this link – the best 180 seconds you’ll spend all day!

June 15, 2020

Student Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Departmental Graduate Awards:

To honor the life and work of Norman Sundberg, the Norman D. Sundberg Fellowship in Psychology is given to outstanding Psychology doctoral students whose research focus is on cultural, community, clinical or personality assessment issues. The GEC is pleased to announce that this year’s winners are Cameron Kay, Monika Lind and Vinita Vader!
To honor the life and work of Beverly Fagot, the Beverly Fagot Dissertation Fellowship is given to an outstanding Psychology doctoral student who has advanced to candidacy and has a research focus in the area of social development and/or developmental psychopathology. The GEC is pleased to announce that this year’s winner is Jackie O’Brien!
Thanks to a generous gift from George Gregores, in honor of his son who graduated with dual degrees in Psychology and Political Science in 2010, we are able to offer the Gregores Graduate Student Research Award. The GEC is pleased to announce that this year’s winners are Alexis Adams-Clark, Raleigh Goodwin, and Brendan Cullen!

Every year, the department’s Distinguished Teaching Award is given to a Psychology graduate student (or students) who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate classroom teaching. This year, the GEC is pleased to announce that the winner is Jeff Peterson!

We are also delighted to celebrate the undergraduate award winner

Rennie Kendrick won the Aaron Novick Thesis Award for her honors thesis completed in Dasa Zeithamova’s lab. Kendrick is also honored as one of the Oregon Six students, who are voted by their peers in Phi Beta Kappa as the most outstanding of those elected to membership that year.

Congratulations to our graduate and undergraduate students on winning these awards!

May 23, 2020

Congratulations to the Awardees from the Undergraduate Research Symposium!

Undergraduate Research Symposium

Congratulations to the undergraduates who won Psychology awards for posters they submitted to UO’s 2020 Undergraduate Research Symposium! Two students tied for the Psychology Grand Prize, given to the best overall poster. This award will be shared by Alex Boxberger, for a poster about “The effect of maternal borderline personality disorder symptoms on child externalizing problems, as mediated by parenting stress and maternal warmth,” and by Amy Chen, for the poster “Individual differences in memory self-efficacy and learning ability.”

Psychology’s Methodological Excellence Award went to Joshua Pearman‘s poster about “What parts of status matter? Comparing respect and admiration to social influence,” and the Innovation and Independence Award in Psychology went to Clare Brinkman, for the poster “Naturalistic perspective taking: Themes found in people’s naturalistic accounts.”

These students, who were selected by a faculty committee, will receive monetary awards. The department is very proud of its high level of undergraduate involvement in research and congratulates these four students for their outstanding posters.

March 4, 2020

Undergraduate Research Featured in Washington D.C.

Congratulations to UO undergraduate student Rennie Kendrick, who was selected to participate in Posters on the Hill, a Washington, D.C. event showcasing innovative student work and highlighting the value of federal investments in undergraduate research.

Kendrick will be presenting a poster on memory and innovative thinking, the subject of her honors thesis. Her plans include meeting with members of Oregon’s congressional delegation. Assistant professor Dasa Zeithamova-Demircan is helping Kendrick with the project, part of their work in the UO’s Brain and Memory Lab.

You can read more here.

February 13, 2020

DuBrow Wins Sloan Research Fellowship

Assistant Professor Sarah DuBrow has been named a 2020 Sloan Research Fellow! The Sloan Fellowships are prestigious awards given to outstanding early-stage scholars in the natural sciences. Congratulations, Dr. DuBrow!

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2020 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $75,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research.

November 10, 2019

Prof Freyd’s DARVO Concept Featured on South Park

DARVO on South Park

DARVO on South Park

Professor Jennifer Freyd’s concept of “Deny, Attack, Reverse Victim and Offender”, or DARVO, in a perpetrator’s response to accusation was featured in a recent episode of the Comedy Central show South Park. Now that’s what we call effective Science Communication! Congrats, Professor Freyd, on your conceptualization reaching the mainstream!

August 14, 2018

Dr. Freyd Receives APA Award

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Freyd, who received an award from the Trauma Psychology division of the American Psychological Association! (more…)

June 5, 2018

Award-winning Undergraduate Students

We are delighted to announce the following winners of our 2018 Undergraduate Awards!


  Page 1 of 5  Next Page »